Winding Down - Final Two Weeks, Then I'm Done

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Winding Down - Final Two Weeks, Then I'm Done

I admit something I didn't think I would feel. I will miss these little ones. I will even miss their parents. I'd like to try and stay involved with childcare without signing myself and my home up for constant germs. Maybe I will work part time or offer a mom and dad date-night service. I've learned a lot about how I'm not very good at putting up boundaries and sticking up for myself or my policies. That needs to change. Whatever next business I get into, I'll have this lesson and others with me. That's got to be a win, right? Opening and closing, and then, opening and closing again has made all this feel like a giant waste of time and resources. Can you tell? I'm a positive person, naturally. lol

This forum has also changed my political views a bit. Now I believe the universal childcare push is just to get more people working so more money can be spent on consumer goods. I believe I learned that from catherder. I think little ones should be at home with a parent for the first three years of life. After that, put them in school where they learn the basics. And by basics, I mean sharing, getting in line, taking turns, eating with utensils, playing without direction, and a whole lotta time spent outside and in deep discussion with whoever will listen about the world they see.

Glad this forum has given you some different view to think about. I know the forum is about childcare but we can't help voicing our views here on other topics. That is a good thing. which is hard to find these days - polite and respectful conversation.

I don't think anything is a waste of time if some new insight is attained. Good luck in your new direction.

Comment

• fivestarday
      fivestarday commented
      Editing a comment
      Thank you, Michael. That's a good point!

Always growing, always learning.