Universal Pre-k

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Universal Pre-k

Good afternoon everyone..😊..I hope everyone is happy and healthy and had an amazing holiday.

I am just curious if universal pre-k is available in everyones area and if so how, if at all, is it affecting enrollment. Thank you everyone in advance for your responses...😊

Originally posted by Decadense View Post
    Good afternoon everyone..😊..I hope everyone is happy and healthy and had an amazing holiday.

I am just curious if universal pre-k is available in everyones area and if so how, if at all, is it affecting enrollment. Thank you everyone in advance for your responses...😊
    We have income eligible pre-k first, then to anyone if the classes do not fill up.....but the hours don't work well for families. There is such a shortage of licensed facilities here. On the average, it hasn't affected my home child care much!

Comment

It has been here since right after I graduated from high school (1992). I opened my daycare soon after, it did not affect my enrollment at all because of:
      • the extreme number of closed days, holidays, summer, weather, boil water advisories, etc.
      • it only goes until 12 then they have to pay for aftercare which is about the same as full-time.
      • extreme teacher turnover, allowing temporary employment before background checks clear.
      • mandatory attendance requirements
      • mandatory home visits.
      • mandatory parental participation.
      • lottery enrollment after lower-income preference, even though all homeowners pay the same taxes to fund it (after lottery proceeds).
      • unstable funding, mismanagement, widespread fraud and theft from subcontractors.
      Last edited by Cat Herder; 4 weeks ago.

Comment

They just started Universal Pre-K in my area in January of this year and it has really affected my enrollment

Comment

• Decadense
          Decadense commented
          Editing a comment